How to: Make use of Scrap Fabric – Clutch

When I saw these strips of fabric I knew that I would be able to make something, I don’t really like waste and this fabric was quite fun. I decided that the bold colours and patterns would make a great little clutch. So here is what I did…

Step 1.


I divided the strips into two piles, one for each side of the clutch. Each strip was about an 1 1/2″ wide and 6″ long. I laid them flat and overlapped the edges. Pinning them in place.


There is around 16 strips for one side.

Step 2.


As I wanted this to be quite a rustic look in keeping with the fabric I chose to use a zigzag stitch on the sewing machine in a contrast red thread.

If you don’t have a machine this could easily be done by hand using any stitch that will secure the strips together.

Repeat Steps 1&2 for other side.

Step 3.


For a fastening for the clutch I chose a zip.
To attach the zip, I placed the zip right side down facing the right side of the clutch panel. Pin in place then stitch to secure.
Repeat for the other side.

Step 4.


Now with the panels attached to the zip, face the right sides together and pin along the edges.


Ensure that the zip is open so that you can turn it the right way when sewn.

Step 5.


Tidy up the loose thread and it’s finished! Then all that is left to do is decide what to use it for…

note: you can choose to line this if you are looking for a more finished piece. Just cut your chosen lining to the size of the finished panels and sew together along 3 edges. Turn out and attach to finished bag along opening under zip.

What will you use yours for?

xoxo

3 thoughts on “How to: Make use of Scrap Fabric – Clutch

  1. Pingback: Ribbon Clutch « All things Indulgent

Leave a Reply

