How to make use of Scraps…Leather

As you have probably guessed I don’t really like to throw much away especially when it comes to bits of fabric. Call me a hoarder if you like but I try and re-use/upcycle as many scraps into something new…it also helps the environment and saves a few pennies too!

So, the other day I picked up these vintage leather trousers and made them into shorts. I was able to do so without any sewing – yay! However, I was left with two ‘legs’ of leather. Too much to toss out so I got to thinking…what can I make out of this?

I have come up with not 1 but 3 things I can do with said scraps (rather impressed with myself). The first of these ideas is a leather clutch, super simple and easy to do (hopefully). The other two ideas will be shared over the coming weeks, promise.

So here is today’s ‘How To’…leather clutch from scraps…

What you will need:

Scrap of leather or fabric.

Sharp scissors

Tape measure

Pen

Hole punch (I used an ice pick)

Needle n’ thread

Stud with screw attachment

Metal edges – if desired

Step 1.

Take one leg or scrap of leather/fabric and open up and lay flat, face side down.

I decided I wanted to make an envelope style clutch so I made a rough template as a guide:

I pinned it to the fabric and cut around the edges.

Step 2.

Using the template as a guide fold the side edges in first and press the leather with a hot iron – be sure to be careful when using the iron.

Repeat with remaining folds. One complete up pin the template and remove.

Step 3.

Pin the bottom flap (one with straight edge) to the side flaps. Taking a needle and thread sew along the edge for about 3″ / 8cm. Do this on both sides.

You could use fabric glue for this if you are not confident with sewing or the leather is too tough.

Step 4.

Taking the metal corner edges slide one on each bottom corner. Using a small scrap place over the corner (to protect the metal) and press firmly with pliers. Repeat on other side.

This step can be skipped if you don’t want/have metal corners.

Step 5.

Using the template or your eye as a guide mark and punch a hole through the top and bottom flap. Also punch a hole through a small square scrap. The scrap will help to secure the screw stud from ripping through the leather.

Taking the screw part of the stud pop it through the scrap then the bottom of the clutch then screw the stud on until its tight.

Step 6.

If like me your hole punched a hole a little small for your stud, snip the leather in a cross and the stud should go through easier.

And viola! All done…now what to put in it?!

Happy Wednesday Everyone!

xoxo

4 thoughts on “How to make use of Scraps…Leather

  1. This is awesome! I’ve been thinking about making a leather clutch but just hadn’t figured out how! Looking forward to hearing about your other two ideas!

Leave a Reply

