By the Book: Embroidery Stitches

IMG_5679

Whilst in Melbourne this past Christmas I picked up a book at a thrift store ‘Mary Thomas’s Dictionary of Embroidery Stitches’. It has sat on my desk hidden under piles of fabrics and papers and I think it is about time that I gave it some light and opened it up. I’ve never really embroidered before, not since the days spent round at my Gran’s when I was little. And it’s not because I haven’t wanted to, I suppose life got in the way of craft. So it is only now that I begin my embroidered stitch journey. I shall now read Mary’s Dictionary with the hope it can teach me some basics and I will share my efforts on here. Join in if you like.

 

For this hobby (lets call it) you need a few supplies:

IMG_5680

 

embroidery hoop

embroidery thread

needle

fabric that you wish to embroider – obviously

 

I thought it best to start at the beginning and after reading the introduction I felt ready to get sewing.

IMG_5685

Stitch 1: Algerian Filling Stitch (click on photo for bigger photo)

Putting the  embroidery hoop on the fabric, I start to sew the Algerian filling stitch, roughly 1cm high, 3 in a row which is staggered in the pattern seen in the book. I’m not exactly perfect at first (see below) but the more I do the more regular the stitches start to become. Practice, practice, practice.

IMG_5707

 

I felt that I was getting into a rhythm and it was surprisingly therapeutic.

photo (12)

Confident that with practice I will be as good as the next grandma I am ready to take on the next stitch.

Happy Stitching!

 

xoxo

 

side note: in the book were these two random pieces of ephemera…love that this tells part of the books previous owner.

IMG_5683

Leave a Reply

