By the Book: Embroidery Stitches II

IMG_5679

So I have been continuing with my embroidery stitches from the Mary Thomas’s Dictionary of Embroidery Stitches. There is something slightly therapeutic about embroidery, all thoughts are on the task at hand making it very easy to tune out the chaos around.

The next stitch I attempted was the Algerian Stitch – Plaited which I discovered was like the one before it, practice makes perfect ( I’ve yet to perfect it).

IMG_3732 copy

IMG_3736 copy

It is a cute stitch and I can see myself using this on some projects, once I get the hang of it.

Feeling rather adventurous I attempted the Arrowhead Stitch.

IMG_3744 copy

IMG_3745 copy

Although this looked fairly simple it was actually quite tough to have perfect little arrowheads – i should have done what the book said and marked out the pattern rather than freestyling – lesson learned.

I strive to be good or at least capable of doing this. Stay tuned for the next installment.

Happy Crafting

xoxo

Leave a Reply

