By the Book: Embroidery Stitches III

Emb3

I’ve been a bit slack on my learning embroidery stitches, no excuses other than life got in the way I suppose.

For my third instalment, I have attempted the following stitches:

Back Stitch Threaded

backstitchthreaded

This was pretty easy as far they go my only concern was how much of thread to leave for each winding stitch. This definitely could be interpreted in different ways.

backstitchthread

Back Stitch Filling – Ringed

Backstitchfillingringed

This took me three attempts, I blame Gene Kelly and his dancing, was watching An American in Paris at the time. It is still a little wonky but it at least resembles rings. Practice, practice, practice.

backstitchfillingring

 

Lastly, the Basket Filling Stitch.

Basketfillingstitch

I decided to be a little bit more prepared on this one (it felt a little like cheating) by marking out the pattern before sewing. But after my last encounter with embroidery I wanted to at least have a straight example.

Basketstitchfilling

Although I have put this off for a month or so, I have to admit I do enjoy it. Need to make a note to work embroidery into some of my upcoming projects.

 

Happy Stitching.

 

xoxo

 

 

One thought on “By the Book: Embroidery Stitches III

Leave a Reply

